Wapiti Talk | Elk Hunting Forum | Elk Hunting Tips

Mule Deer Questions

Moderators: Swede, Tigger, Lefty, Indian Summer, WapitiTalk1

Mule Deer Questions

Postby Emberglo » 10 06, 2015 •  [Post 1]

So, for you guys that read my intro thread, I'm new to hunting and don't have anyone to teach me. So, I've spent several years trying to teach myself. But, when I go out, I'm not even seeing deer. Which leads me to believe that I don't know at all what I'm doing or where to look. I've been hunting in the Boise River WMA, in the cotton wood creek area, North of Idaho City near forest service road 384, and near Grimes Creek.

Can you guys explain what kind of habitat I should be looking for to find deer? I've tried everything from dense timber to desert. If you guys could recommend someplace to check on a map (like google earth) or to drive/hike to to see good mule deer habitat, I'd really appreciate it.

I've mostly been just parking and hiking as far from the road as I can. I think I'm either in the wrong spot or just spooking deer before I see them. I'd really like to at least see some deer. Shooting a buck would be nice as well, but not as important to me as learning how to do this. I think this year, I think I need to spend more time glassing but knowing what to look for would be good. haha

The goal is to find some areas I could hunt around my work schedule (either near Nampa or Boise, Idaho), and possibly venture out a little further from town on the weekends.

I do really appreciate any advice you can offer!
-Ryan
Emberglo

Re: Mule Deer Questions

Postby GobbleFarmer » 10 06, 2015 •  [Post 2]