Wapiti Talk | Elk Hunting Forum | Elk Hunting Tips

Diaphragm Calls

Moderators: Swede, Tigger, Lefty, Indian Summer, WapitiTalk1

Diaphragm Calls

Postby dotman » 06 12, 2012 •  [Post 1]

So this is my first year really giving this a go, Paul suggested a single latex reed well I think I blew thru it right away. I tried for the past two months on it only to get a horrible sound, something was on deaths bed kind of sound. Today on my drive home I put my double latex call in and immediately had a good seal and the sound was 50% better.

Super excited, now to keep practicing away. Currently i'm getting too much saliva and hell from my wife. Will the extra saliva go away with more practice? I alrwady know there is nothing I can do about the hell my wife is giving me :)

Tonight I was practicing my locator bugles with the lil chuckler xtr and called in 2 neighbors, a dog and an embaraced wife. So even though it sounded bad it worked:)
dotman

Re: Diaphragm Calls

Postby WapitiTalk1 » 06 12, 2012 •  [Post 2]

Just a matter of practice Tim. It'll come around with lotsa practice. Come out to WA for a few days and Slim and I will have you rocking your elk sounds within a few days :).. The sounds I heard you make this evening weren't too bad... RJ
WapitiTalk1

First Name: RJ

Postby ElkNut1 » 06 13, 2012 •  [Post 3]

Too much tongue pressure!! Tim, please go watch the Video Clip I shared on Mouth Reed use in the ElkNut Video Forum! It's a few minutes of instruction that should really help you. If you watched it already watch it again! (grin) The instruction is there to help avoid miss use of a mouth reed, if you are blowing them out that easily you need to make an adjustment or two! Thanks!

ElkNut1
ElkNut1
ElkNut/Paul

Postby dotman » 06 13, 2012 •  [Post 4]