Wapiti Talk | Elk Hunting Forum | Elk Hunting Tips

Did You Elk Hunt The Last Day?

Moderators: Swede, Tigger, Lefty, Indian Summer, WapitiTalk1

Postby ElkNut1 » 09 30, 2012 •  [Post 1]

Just curious who did & did not take their archery hunt into that last glorious day! (grin) We now have 335 days to wait!!!! (grin) I hunted with my Son & a friend, it was a no show but I was out there!!!

ElkNut1
ElkNut1
ElkNut/Paul

Re: Did You Elk Hunt The Last Day?

Postby mlauber » 09 30, 2012 •  [Post 2]

Paul,

I surely was & it was a ball this season!!!

I had opportunity thanks to you & your CD.

Your book & instructional CD's helped me immensely. I don't live in elk country so it was a major plus factor for me!

I studied so much this summer that I was truly armed & dangerous! Ha!

I truly believe that I have a long ways to go still learning, but I did call in a bull & cow to 30 yards . I had a bout a 2 second window for opportunity on a bull though, but then that's elk hunting!!!

Did a 14 day DIY in the Mt. Zirkel Wilderness in Colorado! On bulls most every day, but could hardly ever get in front of them. Rough terrain.

I hunted right until the last day! It was anti-climatic to the very end.

I will call you to talk to you about it! I am full of questions on scenarios that I feel an experienced elk hunter might have been able to solve.

Me.... I just get army strong & give them as much heck as this ranger can muster up! Will call you.

Here's my video clip on a shot I passed up.... with 13 days to hunt & this presenting itself in 30 minutes on the first day I ask you.... " Would you have shot?" Ha!

http://youtu.be/gwU5HBOT3OU

:D ;) :D
mlauber

Postby cantgetdrawn » 09 30, 2012 •  [Post 3]