Wapiti Talk | Elk Hunting Forum | Elk Hunting Tips

How long do you leave a trail cam set up?

Moderators: Swede, Tigger, Lefty, Indian Summer, WapitiTalk1

Postby elkaholic » 07 06, 2012 •  [Post 1]

How long will you typically leave a trail cam set up over a wallow/game trail to get an idea of the animals in the area? I am scouting some new areas and would like to get an idea of my clientel. I plan on leaving the camera set up for 1 week minimum at each location. I have 6-8 locations that I can put the camera, all in different areas I am sure different elk live. Starting Aug 18 I will set up the cameras and then plan on moving them every week until mid Sept. Think I will have a good idea of what is in the area with them being "deployed" that long?

I should mention this is my first time using a trail cam. :mrgreen: I have a Moultrie M-80 and have been setting it up in the yard to get used to its sensitivity and night capture modes. Any tips you have would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.
elkaholic

First Name: Leland
Last Name: Stanford

Re: How long do you leave a trail cam set up?

Postby Lefty » 07 06, 2012 •  [Post 2]

Remember all things change as the season progrssess.
I had a trail cam going to water. After 30 days I had 3 bulls on camera. I saw way more elk sitting in my blind two weeks after pulling the camera

with that said I put a new camera on one water source, about 9:30 AM.. It was like video. The card was filled with 3800 pics before 4:30 that same day,.. yikes , coyotes, birds of every kind, rabbits, ranchers, even proof of a Utility worker,.. I think he was lost :lol: or maybe just scouting

I wish I could set cameras out all year long. I think a good progression of year long use would be valuable information. We place a trail cam over our bear bait,.. lots of neat stuff. deer bear, moose coyotes cats , peoples hats :? but no elk.Yet we saw from the stand about an elk every 2 hours, just none on camera