Wapiti Talk | Elk Hunting Forum | Elk Hunting Tips

new guy to forum

Moderators: Swede, Tigger, Lefty, Indian Summer, WapitiTalk1

new guy to forum

Postby shorthair15 » 07 01, 2012 •  [Post 1]

im new to this forum but not elk hunting. i just started learning to use diaphragms for elk calling. i use to use open reeds. im enjoying learning my new found hobby. but i think im driving my wife and daughter crazy. :lol: im getting pretty good at cow calling i feel confident now in it. i need to learn how to chuckle. the elk chuckle alot around here in the early season. this will be probably the hardest sound to learn i can grunt,growl and my bugleing is all right need a little more practice with it but it is comeing along. i have a mellow yellow,the all star and the rageing bull. i will pick up the closer as well. the all star and the rageing bull i seem to get more volume with bugles, growls and grunts. thanks to elk nut aka paul he gave me some pointers on tongue postion and it made a world of difference. i cant thank him enough im finally feeling confident in my calling.
shorthair15

First Name: scott
Last Name: dyer

Re: new guy to forum

Postby JohnFitzgerald » 07 01, 2012 •  [Post 2]

Welcome aboard shorthair15! When I mentor others on calling I always teach the Nervous Grunt. Once you learn that, speeding up the repetition will be the foundation to chuckles and aggresive grunts. My 2-cents.

jf
JohnFitzgerald

Postby shorthair15 » 07 01, 2012 •  [Post 3]