Wapiti Talk | Elk Hunting Forum | Elk Hunting Tips

What could I have done differently in this situation?

Moderators: Swede, Tigger, Lefty, Indian Summer, WapitiTalk1

What could I have done differently in this situation?

Postby win2ktta » 09 13, 2021 •  [Post 1]

Setting (I knew the Bull stuff after the fact obviously): A moto/hiking trail up a drainage. Wallow about 20y off the trail. Bull bedded about 250y up from me as crow flies, and about 300y up the hill from the Wallow in the Timber. oh yea, this is my first time Elk hunting, and I was solo for this one.

Scenario/Situation:

Walking up a moto/hike trail heading north up a drainage about 10am (wind at back). I came upon a Wallow on left side about 20 yds off trail. found some fresh sign, so I moved up to some trees just off to right of wallow and cannot remember whether I did a Hoochie mama or a cow call. I heard a cow mew in response, then some short period of time (30 aec?) after that I heard a “location” bugle (at least that is what I think it was based on ElkNut stuff). I then used both Hoochie mama and my mouth read to make some calls (all cow calls because I left my tube at the SxS, and I did not think to actually try to do a bugle without my bugle tube, which I know now I can) and the bull responded back a couple times with std bugle. Did this. Back and for the for about 5-10 min. At one point he hit me with a “challenge” bugle type aggressive and agitated volume. Which I understood to be "get up here now”.