Wapiti Talk | Elk Hunting Forum | Elk Hunting Tips

Lessons Learned

Moderators: Swede, Tigger, Lefty, Indian Summer, WapitiTalk1

Lessons Learned

Postby Elkhunttoo » 01 13, 2021 •  [Post 1]

What is the best thing/tactic/sound you learned in 2020 that you will use in 2021 and beyond? (Or a few) it might even be just something you learned around your camp. I’ve been hunting elk for 25 years and every year I try to improve so here are a few that I picked up on.

Sounds that I used a lot this last season were panting and glunking. I’ve heard them both before but going into this last year they were sounds I was focusing on using. Luckily enough I was able the hear both several times this year a pick up on a few things. What I learned was that I will use them a whole lot more in the future. Every time I get in close with elk I’m always amazed at how much they are talking and how soft it is. I paralleled a group this year as they were coming out of the sage in the morning. I watched this bull for around 300 yards (I was about 100 yards from him most of the way) every 10 or so seconds he would “pant” “heavy breathing” whatever you want to call it. I felt like he was answering one of the cows with it but it might have just been timing. Nonetheless panting and glunking I feel we’re both a big part of me being in on elk this last year. Hard sounds to make sound good in my opinion and I will do a lot of practicing this year.