Wapiti Talk | Elk Hunting Forum | Elk Hunting Tips

Camp Cookin

Moderators: Swede, Tigger, Lefty, Indian Summer, WapitiTalk1

Camp Cookin

Postby Swede » 09 16, 2012 •  [Post 1]

About four years ago it was left to me to be the camp cook. I know it is not a very glamorous job, but I had filled my elk tag while others were still trying to fill theirs. I would be the first to admit that I am not much of a cook. I have never had much interest in the job, but I can get by. Cuisine, when I cook is barbequed or fried steaks, fresh veggies and something like corn on the cob or canned corn heated up. I always have some bread, and tortillas in a sack, but you have to butter your own. I know about what time the hunters will be in, so I start out a few minutes before it gets dark and start preparing. Almost always it is fresh and hot when folks arrive in camp.
Well one evening as we are eating, one of the hunters was complimenting me and stated that I was a better cook than his wife. I know his wife's cooking and she is good, so I thought to myself "you are trying way too hard to show appreciation". Still I said "thanks". I did understand, in a way, what he meant though. There is something special about camp cooking and hunters sitting around visiting and discussing their hunts as well as their plans. It is one of the highlights of my day. even as camp cook. Since we live out of trailers and A-Wall tents, we are not forced to eat granola and freeze dried meals that you just add water to and shake or stir.
The thought of camp meals got me to wondering what others might be experiencing. What constitutes a great camp meal to some of you?
Swede
Wapiti Hunting - Tree Stand Tactics

Re: Camp Cookin

Postby Lefty » 09 16, 2012 •  [Post 2]

Camp dinners is one of the things I do miss about not hunting in a group.