Wapiti Talk | Elk Hunting Forum | Elk Hunting Tips

man did i get lucky, so to speak

Moderators: Swede, Tigger, Lefty, Indian Summer, WapitiTalk1

man did i get lucky, so to speak

Postby JJ Overkill » 05 29, 2013 •  [Post 1]

I was working on memorial day, a little extra money, im a millwright by trade. me and four other guys were putting a hub on a shaft for a crusher. I was pulling on a come along while the other guys were hitting the end of the hub with a dead blow hammer. (18# plastic hammer) I was on the left side of the hub and the other guys were on the right. one of the guys switched to the left side and went to swing the hammer and got caught up in the structure behind him, he short swung the hammer it glanced of the shaft, hit me in the face and broke my nose. it hurts like heck now, but I did get lucky! it could have been much worse than this. if it would have been a full swing and didn't glance god only knows how bad it would have been.

I guess the reason im writing this is, it only takes a split second to put things back into perspective and remind us of whats really important in life. when I got home my 3 children where at the bottom of the steps wanting to give me a hug and make sure I was ok. im sure they wanted to see how bad my face was as well. my wife meet me at the ER room.

I can say, ive been hit several times before, but never like that! I just thank god I have more time with those I love. it could have been worse.
JJ Overkill

First Name: jeremy

Re: man did i get lucky, so to speak

Postby Bartfrncs » 05 29, 2013 •  [Post 2]

As an old Infantry Soldier I know exactly what you mean! I have been lucky about a hundred times. I have the medals to prove it too.
Bartfrncs

First Name: Bart
Last Name: Frncs

Postby JJ Overkill » 05 29, 2013 •  [Post 3]

Bartfrncs wrote:As an old Infantry Soldier I know exactly what you mean! I have been lucky about a hundred times. I have the medals to prove it too.