Wapiti Talk | Elk Hunting Forum | Elk Hunting Tips

Archery after torn rotator cuff?

Moderators: Swede, Tigger, Lefty, Indian Summer, WapitiTalk1

Archery after torn rotator cuff?

Postby Moose-head » 02 24, 2013 •  [Post 1]

I tore my rotator cuff several years ago and have not been able to get back in shape for pulling my bow. Are there people who have come back from a similar shoulder issues and returned to archery hunting?
Moose-head

First Name: Dana

Re: Archery after torn rotator cuff?

Postby bnsafe » 02 24, 2013 •  [Post 2]

i was an or nurse for years. its a tough surgery to fix. long recovery. if you really want it you can bowhunt, but strengthen the are as much as possible and shoot less lb than you want to. good luck
bnsafe

First Name: Scott

Postby pointysticks » 02 25, 2013 •  [Post 3]

i think Dwight Schule of Bowhunting magazine did this.

he switched hands and dropped to a 50 lb bow. he would still hunt me into the dirt. is switching hands an option?
pointysticks

First Name: cliff
Last Name: l

Postby cnelk » 02 25, 2013 •  [Post 4]

Are you sure you torn the RC?
I was having shoulder trouble about a year ago and the MRI showed a partial bicep tendon tear and a partial RC tear.
Not enough damage to do surgery - yet...

I went to therapy and am now managing it that way.

I also know if you wait too long to get it repaired,they can't repair it.

I still use the sling/release I made up since I cut my hand 3 months ago.
Check it out. You may be able to do something like it

Good luck

cnelk

First Name: Brad
Last Name: K

Postby ironhead22 » 02 25, 2013 •  [Post 5]

I have a partial tear in both shoulders, love that ironwork, there are strength exercises you can do that will help some
As far as switching hands if you can do it your better then me. My 3 year olds writing looks better then mine left handed, I throw a ball like a girls. What I'm saying is I can't do it LOL.
ironhead22

First Name: Mark
Last Name: Thompson